January 29, 2019

Chairman Kilmer Statement on Speaker Pelosi’s Appointments to the Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress

Washington, D.C.—Today, Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi appointed the following Members of Congress to the Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress, which is chaired by Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA). The Members are:

  • Congressman Emanuel Cleaver of Missouri
  • Congresswoman Suzan DelBene of Washington
  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California
  • Congressman Mark Pocan of Wisconsin
  • Congresswoman Mary Gay Scanlon of Pennsylvania

Following the announcement, Rep. Kilmer said:

 "It’s clear now, more than ever, that the House is a fixer-upper.  Americans deserve a government that works. I am excited to get to work with my Democratic colleagues who got appointed to the Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress and look forward to the appointment of Republicans in the coming days.  My colleagues bring diverse backgrounds and perspectives to the Committee, and they have a proven track record of increasing transparency in government.  Soon the Committee will work across the aisle to create bipartisan, lasting change to modernize Congress and get it working for the people again."

 In a press release announcing the appointments, Speaker Pelosi said:

"It is a great privilege to name these outstanding Members of Congress to the House’s new Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress. Our new Members are pioneers and innovators with proven track records of achievement in making our institution more transparent, unifying and responsive to the needs and aspirations of the American people.  With Congressman Kilmer at the head of the table, this Select Committee will strengthen and reinvigorate our institution, advancing a House of Representatives that is diverse, dynamic, oriented toward the future and committed to delivering results For The People."